New Year’s Resolutions, TV Style

Girl watching tvThe move from December to January is so celebrated and grand,  I guess it makes some sense that this is time we also try and become whole new people in the form of New Year’s Resolutions. Of course that doesn’t really work because we are who we are and let’s be honest, I’m never going to be in the Olympics, no matter how many times I resolve to become competitive in curling. Still, we can seemingly never can resist the urge to try can we?  So, this year in the spirit of the new year, I list my five New Year’s Resolutions, TV Style, after da jump:

1. Be realistic: 2011 kicked my butt in many ways, through unwanted and sad moves across the Atlantic, to nearly nine months of unemployment, to adjusting to a new job, to not having a DVR, which is obviously the worst thing that has happened to me. I was tired and sad and stressed and the creative juices weren’t flowing. Heck, getting the energy to catch up on Fringe was an undertaking that I couldn’t face for a few months.  So while I wish I would have written more and I sure did promise to write more, it probably wasn’t realistic. So in 2012, I am going to (once again) promise to write more. But a realistic promise. So, no I won’t promise 10 recaps in 10 weeks, or a post a day or anything like that. Rather, I promise something doable such as…

2. Post at least twice a month: I think I can do this. I know I can do this. In January, I only have to post one more time and I will be 1/12 toward my goal. I love writing about television, but because I don’t do it enough, it often takes me a long time to finish a post. I do an outline, I write a draft, edit a draft, let it sit for a day or two (or two months) and then edit again. I make sure I am not repeating other stuff out there, for all three of my readers.  And then I find all the links (you know I like my links) and then I post.  I need to streamline this process, which comes from experience, and also make some time to do it. I am busy, but not that busy.  As G.O.B. would say, “Come on!”

3. Try my hand at recaps: I enjoy reading good recaps of shows and hate to read bad ones. The good recappers out there can make me care about a show that I’ve never watched, and provide insight into shows I just watched.  I can’t promise I’ll be a good recapper (in fact, I will probably suck until I get the hang of it), but I have wanted to try my hand at it. So, I resolve to give it a go; I even have some ideas of where I will start, and maybe my second January post will be a recap.

4. Catch up on shows I have missed: When I was living in London, I missed a lot of shows that debuted in the US. (I even wrote about how hard frustrating it all was.)  Some were shown in the UK, but I didn’t get the channels, and some never made it across the pond. There are even shows that aired in the UK when I was there, but I missed because of lack of access. And, to be honest, there are shows that I knew were on, but just didn’t have time to watch.  So, I will take the next 12 months to catch up on these, and no longer secretly hang my head in shame. In no particular order, my catch up list is: Mad Men (I have all four seasons thanks to a friend and want to be ready for its return), Ashes to Ashes (yes, this aired when I was in the UK, I just didn’t have the time), The Wire (I love Homicide, so I am sure I’ll enjoy this), Chuck, Downton Abbey, Parenthood, Misfits, Breaking Bad, Dexter,  and The Walking Dead. Just to name a few.

5. Stay on top of currently airing shows: I spend a lot of time aimlessly wondering throughout various corners of the internet, and man do I waste a lot of time! Even though I don’t have a DVR or Tivo right now, (have I mentioned that) most stuff will show up online the day after it airs. So, I resolve to still waste as much time on the internet, just through watching television instead.

Let’s see how I do!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Brandy

     /  03/01/2012

    Ummmm, I’m reading. Am I one of your three readers. I love me some Dingy time! Haha!

    Reply
  2. Kym

     /  03/02/2012

    So I’ve decided that when you decide to start with The Wire, I am going to watch them again with you. Because it’s just that good…one of the few shows that I don’t think is oversold.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

