It’s Back! What I’m Watching, Told Through Colo(u)r.

The new season of television is upon us here in the United States, and I have a little tradition that I must uphold. I know I am a little bit tardy in this, as many shows have premiered, so for those  worried it might not make an appearance this year, never fear, the colo(ur) coded schedule is here!

I create this calendar to organise the new shows that I want to check out each fall and to keep track of the returning shows.  There are always shows that I check out once or twice that just fade away from my schedule, and I am sure this year won’t be different. This is either because they get cancelled, or they just don’t keep my interest.

A couple interesting (to me at least) things to note about this year.  My schedule feels very sparse this year, with only a few conflicts and even some open time slots.  I am not sure if this is because I have learned to live with less television in my life or for other reasons.   I have a pretty busy work schedule this semester and I know I won’t be able to keep up with a jam-packed slate. Or, it could be that it is simply a weak year for new shows.  I expect that it is a mixture of all three, but I have to say, there were very few shows I felt really excited about.

This schedule doesn’t reflect the many returning shows that I want to be watching (such as Boardwalk Empire or Homeland) that I have fallen behind on. As you may guess (or know) I have a difficult time not starting at the beginning . I am still working my way through Mad Men (and I will finish it so I can watch the next season live), so I am wary of taking on too much. So, I know there are good shows I am missing, but I can’t watch them all this year.

Here a quick rundown of the shows this one girl is watching this fall, after the break.

Sunday

The Amazing Race (CBS): An old favourite, and at this point, I check in and out during the season. I always watch the premiere, and then depending on how I like the teams, my attention stays or waivers.

The Good Wife (CBS): Does Dan Rydell (ahem, of course I mean Josh Charles) continue to star? Yes. Okay, I’m still watching. Oh, and it’s pretty good!

666 Park Avenue (ABC): Honestly, I am giving it a chance because a) it sounds creepy and b) Terry O’Quinn (aka, John Locke) and Vanessa Williams star.

Monday

Switched at Birth (ABCFam): You all know I love this show, since I wrote about it. We are in the final ten episodes of the first season (which is a huge 32 eps total), and I’ve been pretty impressed with this set so far. I felt the middle bunch lagged at times, but even then the show did a lot right. In this batch some relationships that have been on the back burner are getting the spotlight.

Partners (CBS): A male friendship where one is gay and the other is straight? That was pretty much all I needed to hear, and I’m checking it out. [Note: The first episode was pretty bad, which I have watched since I did my schedule. I’ll give it a few more tries, but it isn’t looking good]

Revolution (NBC): It’s from J.J. Abrams. There is a sci-fi hook. (This time, a catastrophe leaves the entire world without electrical power.) There is most certainly mythology. And of course there is the family ripped apart by tragedy starring one Elizabeth Mitchell.  Is this show going to crash burn? Almost certainly.  But, I will enjoy it until it gets cancelled, gets bad, or ends with me feeling unsatisfied. Or all three!

Tuesday

Ben & Kate (Fox): A show about an irresponsible older brother and a too responsible younger sister (who is also a single mother). Ben moves back in with Kate and her daughter, Maddie, and funny stuff happens. The first episode was lots of fun, and I actually did laugh. It looks cute and sweet, and fits in well with the other comedies on Fox.

New Girl (Fox): I have limited tolerances of Zooey Deschenel, which I may have mentioned before. But, I do find her show pretty cute (in the right way) most of the time, and I like all the actors. As long as she keeps limiting the cupcake and Hello Kitty appearances (or at least as long as the other characters keep making fun of her for it), I’ll keep watching.

The New Normal (NBC): The other show with gays at the center, this one from Ryan Murphy. It is about a gay couple, their unborn child’s surrogate mother, her daughter, and her racist, homophobic grandma. Ellen Barkin is the grandma, and a guy from the Book of Mormon is one of the men in the couple. Since it is from Ryan Murphy, he writes the couple with authenticity, and does show how ‘normal’ they are. Of course since it is Ryan Murphy, there are exaggerated characters, racist and ableist comments, and I expect soon to see continuity  errors. I’ll watch it until the horrible portrayal of anyone not gay, or the lack of character development make me stop.

The Mindy Project (Fox): The third show I may be watching on Tuesday from Fox, which scares me. This is from Mindy Kaling, formerly of The Office, and the first episode is pretty funny. She plays a single, thirtysomething, doctor who is addicted to romantic comedies. It is great to see a female showrunner, and I hope it continues to be strong.

Wednesday

The Arrow (CW): It is based on the Green Arrow, so it is comic-booky and superhero-y. Partly told through flashbacks, it will show the Green Arrow origin story, along with a fully-juiced Green Arrow. Plus, the main actor looks good without his shirt on.

The Neighbors (ABC): A family moves out of the city into the suburbs, and finds out they live amongst a colony of aliens. Yes, it is a stupid premise, but I watched the first episode, and I actually liked it. I don’t know how long it will last, but I will give it a chance.

Modern Family (ABC): Although I don’t think it deserved its Emmy win this year (or last year), Modern Family can still be pretty funny at times. I will keep popping in and out this year, especially to see how they develop the Gloria is pregnant story.

Nashville (ABC): I keep hearing great things about this show, centred around an aging country music star who goes on tour with the hot young thing.  Even if it didn’t have rave reviews, it stars Connie Britton (who will always be Tammie Taylor to me), and that is good enough.

Copper (BBC-A): This show started in August, and is BBC America’s first foray into original programming, with some people who also produced Homicide: Life on the Streets. Copper is about an Irish cop (or copper) living in the Five Points Irish Neighborhood of New York City, at the end of the Civil War (1860s).  He has to juggle relationships with the upper class he routinely comes in contact with, with the working class Irish folk he is and lives amongst, with the a black doctor who most think is ‘uppity,’ with the ladies who work in a whore house, and his fellow cops. So, not many people. It is pretty good, though I will confess to occasionally getting lost and having to rewind.

Thursday

Last Resort (ABC): Andre Braugher (from the aforementioned Homicide) and Scott Speedman (uh, the guy Felicity followed to college) are the commanders of a submarine that is given an order to fire a nuclear missile. The order gets questioned, they become enemies of the US, etc.. It has gotten good enough reviews, and I like Braugher enough to check it out.

Up All Night (NBC): A show that I probably like the people in it (Will Arnett, Christina Applegate, and Maya Rudolph), better than the actual show, I will watch it when I can, and hope it can be more consistent.

Glee (Fox): I have almost broken up with Glee totally, but I just can’t quite quit it. So instead, I’ll watch sporadically, and complain about at least 90% of the episode. (The New Normal: welcome to your future.)

Parks & Recreation (NBC): What can I say about Parks & Rec? It is one of the best shows on television right now, it deserved the Emmy, yet wasn’t nominated. Leslie Knope is one of the greatest female characters around, and the surrounding cast are fabulous. Even a less than impressive Parks & Rec is better than most, and most are more than just a little bit impressive.

Elementary (CBS): I am loyal to the Benedict Cumberbatch/Martin Freeman version, but I am also a Sherlock Holmes addict. So, I’ll watch this version of a modern-day Sherlock, set in New York and with a female Watson, played by Lucy Lui. And, I’ll tell everyone how the British version is sooo much better and authentic.

Friday

Fringe (FOX): The last, somewhat miraculous season for this show, will air 13 episodes that take place in 2036 (or so). Picking up where last season’s Letters of Transit leave off, our Fringe Team has just woken up from being amber-ed for 20 years. Olivia and Peter’s daughter, Etta, (who was just an embryo last season) is now just a few years younger than her parents, and they, together with the rest of our loved characters, must save the world. I hope they can pull it off and leave us with a satisfying ending.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. kym

     /  04/10/2012

    This tv season is just not doing it for me either. Weird. We’ve got a bit of overlap. I watched part of Partners and turned it off – disappointing since I like the cast members. Revolution getting a full season along with New Normal this quickly probably says more about NBC than anything. Like you, I’m surprised at the FOX Tuesday night shows – and I watch Raising Hope too. I wonder how much country music will be in Nashville. And the British version is better – Jonny Lee Miller, while cute, is no sexy otter.

    Reply
  1. Mid-Season Review « OneGirlInLoveWithTV

Leave a Reply

